Shinobigami Errata Part 1

I read through the Replay portion of the second Shinobigami book and it pumped me up for more Shinobigami.  I don’t think I’ll be able to run a game of it this month, but I keep imagining how awesome a Halloween themed game would be.

The first part of the rules section of the book is a bunch of errata.  Here are the first couple of pages, including a brand new Ougi and some clarifications on the way Fumbles work.  I’m still not 100% sure on some of the terms I’m going to settle on, but here’s what I’ve got for now.

Rule Changes

The following are changes to the rules found in the Basic Rulebook.  If you plan on using the additional rules found in this book, please make sure to use these rules changes.

1.01 Errata Concerning Resolution

The following are changes to the rules pertaining to Resolutions.

1.01.01 Resolution Types

These rules changes apply to the Action Resolutions that occur at the end of a Drama Scene after the scene has been acted out.

First, the Scene Player must choose between Information, Life Point, and Emotion before the Action Resolution occurs.  On a successful Action Resolution, the effect of the chosen Resolution occurs.  For more information on these effects, please see the Basic Rulebook, page 199.

The type of Resolution that occurs depends on the Scene Player’s choice; Life Point becomes a Recovery Resolution, Information becomes an Information Resolution, and Emotion becomes an Emotion Resolution.

1.01.02 Fumble Value

During a Resolution, a result on a roll of 2d6 that is the same or lower of a set value is considered a Fumble.  This set value is called the Fumble Value.

During Drama Scenes and during the Plot phase of a Battle Scene, the Fumble Value is 2.  At any other portion of a Battle Scene, A character’s Plot Number becomes their Fumble Value.

1.01.02.01 The Increase of Fumble Value Due to Cost

The way that Cost is used when using Support Ninpo during a Drama Scene has changed.

When a Ninpo with a determined Cost is used during a Drama Scene, please raise the Fumble Value for the Assigned Skill Resolution by the same number as the Cost

1.02 Ougi Errata/Additional Rules

The errata for effects of each Ougi are as follows.

The new Ougi type Additional Ninpo is also available to be acquired.  Each Ougi acquired may be used once per Drama Scene and once per round of a Battle Scene.

-Critical hit:  This Ougi can be used instead of an attack.  Choose 1 character that is 1 Plot Number away or less.  That character chooses 4 Skill Categories at random; those Life Points are lost.

-Radial Attack:  This Ougi can be used instead of an attack.  Choose any characters 3 Plot Numbers away or less.  All characters hit by this attack suffer 2 points of damage.  Those hit can choose which Art Type/Skill Categories suffer the damage.

-Perfect Success:  This Ougi can be used before you roll a Resolution.  You succeed on the Resolution.  This is not a Special and if an Achievement Value is required, it is treated as 10.

-Immortal Body:  This Ougi can be used any time you take damage.  You recover Life Points equal to the roll of 1d6 minus the # of times this Ougi has been used during this game (to a minimum of 0).  In addition, any status effects are also healed.

-Impenetrable Defense:  This Ougi can be used when any character loses a Life Point.  The effect that causes the Life Point loss is nullified.

-Resolution Meddling:  This Ougi may be used when another character makes a Skill Resolution.  Turn one die into a 1.

-Additional Ninpo:  When this Ougi is acquired, choose 2 Attack or Support Ninpo that is available to your character.  These Ninpo are treated as being acquired by your character.  The Assigned Skills for the Ninpo acquired by this Ougi are the same as this Ougi’s Hidden Skill.  When you use the Ninpo acquired by this Ougi, any other characters in the same Scene as you can attempt an Insight Check.  On a success, those characters receive this Ougi’s Information.  From that point on, those characters can attempt an Ougi Break against the Ninpo acquired by this Ougi.  When such an Ougi Break is successful, the effects of these Ninpo are nullified.

Advertisements

~ by mattgsanchez on October 19, 2010.

3 Responses to “Shinobigami Errata Part 1”

  1. What is the ‘plot value’ that keeps on being mentioned, is it spaces on a grid for distance or is it a more abstract idea?

    • Nevermind, I found the answer on another Shinobigami thread on another web log posted at the end of this comment.

      The “Resolution types” “Drama/battle/climax scenes” ‘Emotion’, all of this sounds really intriguing

      —-
      1) In the Main Phase, once you take a single point of damage, you are out of the scene. There’s no coming back, and you lose the chance to gain the Prize, Information, etc. that was at stake. So you want to be first, especially in a 1 on 1 battle.

      Even if you’re in the Climax Phase, where you fight to the death, taking a point of damage may mean that the Skill Category that has all your best skills is taken out, meaning that your most powerful ninpo are disabled. That could be a big blow.

      2) The higher your Plot is, the more ninpo you can use, and the more powerful they can be. Each non-equip ninpo has a cost, from 1-6. You can use ninpo until the cost of all combined ninpo equals your Plot. For example, I use a ninpo that lets me attack like 3 people, so it’s an expensive one, at a cost of 4. I was planning on using it, so I played at Plot 5, just to make sure I attack first. Now, rolling a 5 or less is a little higher than 1 in 4, so it’s a bit risky, but worth it in this case. But I the opponent dodges the attack. I have another ninpo that lets me retry attacks, but it has a cost of 2, which would bring me up to 6 just to use it, and then another 4 to use the powerful attack I just used… So basically you need to be at least a certain Plot to use powerful ninpo, especially if you want to use multiple ninpo in one round.
      —–

      • Right. If you check the Battle sheet, each plot value corresponds to a rate of speed, from 0, “mundane” (ordinary/non-ninja characters can’t be faster/higher plot than 0), to 7, “faster than light.” normally you are from 1 (ghost walk) to 6 (light speed) but certain ninpo may allow/force you to be higher or lower. Each player decides at the beginning of the round secretly, then all declare them simultaneously. Make sense?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: