Tenka Ryouran Character Creation

From the first published TRR replay

Work has started, and things are pretty crazy.  It looks like I’ve got a lot of logistics, customs, trade and export information to study and process for a while.  But I’ve got to relax sometimes, right?  And what better way than to pore through the Tenka Ryouran books?

I don’t know when I’ll be able to play the game, but I wanted to give character creation a shot.  I decided on an Abe no Seimei sort of Onmyouji, maybe someone that can use calligraphy as magic, or something.  I imagine it as a sort of controller sort of character, calling fire from ancient poetry to toast entire rows of kappa or something awesome.

I’ll forego the quick character creation and make one from scratch.  I figure I’ll go with Suzaku 1/Onmyouji 1/Youkai Artist (Pictomancer) 1 to make my character.  Let’s go step by step and see how it goes!

First, I’ll take the stats given from each class and add them together to get my base stats, those stats being: Body, Reflex, Intelligence, Wisdom, Will, and Luck.

Stat:  Suzaku + Onmyouji + Pictomancer = Total

  • Body: 3 + 2 +3 = 8
  • Reflex: 4 + 2 + 3 = 9
  • Int: 5 + 6 +4 = 15
  • Wis: 5 + 6 + 5 = 16
  • Will: 3 + 4 + 5 = 12
  • Luck: 4 + 4 + 4 = 12

After adding the 3 classes together, I’ll get 1 extra point to put wherever I want.  I think I’ll put it into Wisdom, since I think that’s going to be my main stat.  That’ll bring it up to 17.  Now I can calculate my stat bonuses (simply divide each stat by 3) and determine my secondary/battle stats.  To do so, I’ll be using the stat bonuses to do so.  In addition, each class gives a bonus to each of these based on their level:

Battle stat: formula = base + suzaku + Onmyouji + Pictomancer = total

  • Aiming: (Ref [3]+ Int [5])/2 = 4 + 1 + 0 + 0 = 5
  • Dodge: (Ref + Luck)/2 = 3 + 0 + 0 + 0 = 3
  • Magic Attack: (Wis + Int)/2 = 5 + 1 + 2 + 1 = 8
  • Magic Defense: (Wis + Luck) = 4 + 0 + 1 + 1 = 6
  • Movement: Ref + Wis = 8 + 2 + 0 + 1 = 11
  • Toughness: Original Body = 8 + 3 + 2 + 1 = 14
  • Spirit: Original Will = 12 + 3 + 3 + 3 = 21
  • Attack = 0 + 1 + 0 + 0 = 1

Now that I’ve got all my basic and secondary stats, I can go through and pick the powers from my three classes. Each class has a determined power that the character gets, as well as a certain number of extra powers that they receive at the first level, and another number of powers they receive every level thereafter.

Suzaku: At level 1, every character gets Geki Mutsusha (spend 2 MP to raise your enemy’s Fumble chances when they defend against an attack) and Chi wo Nagumono (spend 2 MP to make any attack an area attack).  I also get to choose an attack, so I’m going to go with Gouka no Kokoro (get +1d6 damage when targeting more than 1 person).

Onmyouji: Every Onmyouji character gets Jutsu Bougu (allows a character access to the Onmyouji items in the item list) and 2 level 1 powers.  I choose Tenmon Rekihou (makes any Magic attacks easier to roll criticals) and Seimei Kikyouin (turn a Magic attack into an area attack; if you have Chi wo Nagumono, add +1d6 damage).

Pictomancer: Every Pictomancer gets Youkai Fuede (gives every Pictomancer a special item) and 2 level 1 powers.  I choose Amigiri (+1 to attack; 3d6 slash damage) and Chouchin no obake (3d6 of flame damage).

Every character gets 3 feats, 1 per level of each class.  These feats are super powerful abilities that suit each class.  I’ll get to these in a different post.

Next: items.  I already am going to get an item for the Pictomancer power I got for free and I now have access to the Onmyouji items.  Every character gets 50 points of equip points to spend on stuff.  I’m going to spend mine on: Juui (spiritual clothes; +1 to magic attack), Shikigami x5 (paper charms that summon things to fight for me), Tanyaku x1 (recover 2d6), and Mokukokudofu (reduce dark damage by 5).

At this point, I would stop and leave the rest for the beginning of a gaming session.  All I really have left are my character’s Lifepath, Connections, and other detailed settings like the name and age.  I think I’d like to set those up with the group I’d play with.  They are actually an interesting part of the character creation that I’d like to talk about later.  In any case, here’s my character sheet!  Hopefully I’ll be able to get a game going soon and let you know how it goes.

Tenka Ryouran charactersheet

~ by mattgsanchez on April 10, 2011.

2 Responses to “Tenka Ryouran Character Creation”

  1. Very interesting. It looks like this system allows a huge character customization.

    Just one question. Are there any power that can only be used once an encounter or a day? Like D&D4?

    • Each character gets 3 “ougi,” 1 for each of the three levels that they choose at character creation. These ougi can be used once per game. If, for example, a character chooses a certain level twice, they can use that ougi twice. They are usually abilities that allow you to deal a lot of a certain type of damage, completely negate an attack, or something else that fits the character archetype.

      Some abilities may say “may be used once per combat” or something, but there isn’t any sort of Daily/Encounter/At-will sort of classification. In fact, the ougi themselves seem to be a hold-over from Tokyo Nova’s “kamikaze”/feat abilities. Its third edition predates DnD 4th by a few years, I think.

Leave a Reply

 
