Magicalogia Part 1: Character Creation

Because I haven’t played Peekaboo yet, and Magicalogia just came out and I’m excited about it,  I think I’m going to go in reverse order with the Saikoro Fiction games.

Magicalogia, by Toichiro Kawashima, just hit bookstores at the very end of April.  In this game, you take on the roles of a group of magic users and/or magical beings that are trying to collect evil grimoires with the intent and ability to spread chaos around our world.  These magicians have the power to control the very fabric of reality, and are therefore sort of a blight on nature itself, but they take on the responsibility of keeping our world safe from the damning influence of these tomes and only they can change the fate of our world that is the destruction that has been foretold.

The game has a lot in common with Shinobigami, but the focus has shifted to a fully co-op game, for better and for worse.  I’ll start, as usual, with character creation.

Character creation starts off with a name.  Well, two names, actually.  Each character has a Mage Name in addition to their normal name.  This Mage Name is created randomly and is always made up of 2 words, usually words that describe your character.  For example, if your character has the Fang skill and rolls “Black” on the Mage Name: Color chart, you would make up a name to the effect of “The Black Fang.”  Sometimes the words don’t quite match up to your expectations, but that’s half the fun.  The Mage Name is important because whenever you initiate a Magic Battle, you must always give an official challenge using your Mage Name.

Each character starts off at the Practicus level; mid-level mages.  Seniority is very important in the world of Mages, so you’ll have rank 1 and 2 mages at your command, but your higher ups will still have final say over what you do.  Mid-level mages have Attack, Defense, and Source values of 3.  Attack and Defense scores represent the dice you’ll use in Magic Battles (more on that later), while the Source value is the max amount of mana you can charge, the max number of spirits you can summon, and the number of Magic Points (MP) you add when it is determined.

Next, each player picks their character’s history.  There are 6 types of character types to pick from, and their are in order of group hierarchy from leader to the lowest authority, in this order:

  • Bookwatch: These guys spend their time fighting and retrieving the grimoires in order to keep them from spreading wanton destruction.
  • Librarian: These guys provide support to the Bookwatch or anyone else that needs it.
  • Artisan: These guys are constantly looking for sources of new magic.
  • Guest: These are normal people that have accidentally been wrapped up in the world of magic users.
  • Outsiders: These are magical entities; vampires, fairies, etc.
  • Apocrypha: These are the former spirits of grimoires, or perhaps even a spirit that has summoned by a magic user to fulfill a geas or mission.

Each character also needs a secret identity; magic users are not well looked upon in this world.

Now for the skill selection.  In this game, the six categories are: Star, Beast, Power, Song, Love, Dark.  Each character chooses a single category to specialize in, and fills in the gap to either side of the column.  They then choose 2 skills from their specialized category and 3 of any other category they choose.  Some sample skills: Forest, Rainbow, Sun (Star); Story, Memory (Song), Death, Backstabbing, Stupid (Dark).  Each character actually gets a 6th skill that is engraved in their soul that can be anything that they want.  A character can use this Soul Skill at any time with a target number of 6, but it will cost an MP.  Skill selection may be performed after the spells are chosen; this might actually be a good idea.

There are 3 types of magic spells: summoning, spell, and permanent.  Summon spells are performed at the beginning of each round of combat and are used to summon a spirit that helps in combat.  As of now there are 3 types of spirits, each of which has 66 types (each skill can be used to summon the 3 types of spirits).  The book states that there are 666 spirits in total, so expect 8 more types of spirits in the future.  Spells are things like damaging or support spells.  Permanents do things like add 1 to your Attack dice or give extra MP.  The summoning and spell… spells are activated by succeeding on their appropriate skill checks.

Each character also has a True Form that can be activated once per game during a magic battle.  This represents the true form of the mage’s soul while within the battle’s confines, and has 1 of 6 effects that the player chooses when choosing their True Form.  They can do things like doing extra damage, taking less damage, refilling lost MP, or becoming another character’s summoned spirit.  This true form can be rolled on a chart or made up by the player.

Lastly, each character starts off with a relationship.  Mages are somewhat disconnected with the real world; without this connection, they become lost and disappear inbetween the cracks of reality.  Relationships can also be used to resurrect yourself when you die or do extra-powerful attacks, but this causes bad things to happen to the person you’re using.  When a relationship dies, they become a Scar, which has some pretty nasty consequences.

More to come.


~ by mattgsanchez on May 11, 2011.

One Response to “Magicalogia Part 1: Character Creation”

  1. […] Part 1 can be found here. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: